In connection with Atlantic Music Event on the Faroe Islands, The Nordic House has held a songwriting competition. Many of the best songwriters on the Faroese music scene competed for the price of dkr. 75.000.
124 songs competed. A jury of 12 people from the faroese music industry listened to all 124 songs and selected the top 21 songs.
Another jury consisting of people working within the industry in Denmark Norway, Iceland and the US then decided which songs were the best of the 21.

The final jury members were:

Brynhild Kalsø Hansen PDH Music DK
Helene Broch Music Export Norway(NO)
Jens Ove Friis (DK)
Lars Charlie Mortensen, Jelling Festivalen(DK)
Sarah-Chanderia Hacate Entertainment Group USA/NO
Kathrine Bækkevold Interscope, Geffen, A&M, Universal US, Motown, Dreamworks (NO)
Peter Møller Madsen Nibefestivalen(DK)
Birgitte Mandelid Øyafestivalen (NO)
Michael Callesen Rosa - Dansk Rock Samråd(DK)
Ásgeir Eyþórsson Promoter Reykjavík(IS)
Poul Henrik Jensen DJBFA(DK)
Þorvaldur Bjarni Þorvaldsson Musician and Songwriter

The Resault of the competition was that danish based Faroese female singer
Eivør won first price, dkr. 75.000, with the song Grát ei, her former bandmate from rock band Clickhaze Jens L. Thomsen took second price, dkr.  20.000 with the song Fjøllini standa úti ft. vocalist Kári Sverrison. New sensation Boys In A Band and the song Secrets to conceal got third price, dkr. 5.000.
All the 21 songs are available on our myspace profile

The prices were sponsored by the Nordic House and The Faroese Ministry of Culture

AME Reykjavík 2007L


AME Reykjavík Tickets

AME Myspace